Powdered peanut butter?

ca8c1302f7c611e2b92122000a9e0727_5Has anyone seen this? Apparently peanut butter can come in a powder now. My aunt came to visit my family this summer and introduced me to PB2, a powdered peanut butter. She explained she is watching her fat intake and PB2 has lower fat content than regular peanut butter. I’m intrigued.

I still don’t know how much fat I should be eating at all. I just eat whatever I want (not junk food but eat whatever I want in whole foods), not paying any attention to my macronutrients. I thought the idea of having a less fattening peanut butter seemed cool (even thought fats are healthy, especially fat from nuts.) So, I thought I’d give it a try and bought myself “Just Great Stuff” powdered peanut butter.

Basically, all you have to do is add water to the powder and voile instant peanut butter. Pretty cool. I smothered it on a mini bagel today and it was delicious. Surprise, surprise, it tastes just like peanut butter!

I then thought to myself, ‘Well this is cool, but I bet they do something weird to make it.’ So I turned to Google to answer my curiosity. Apparently it’s made in a not so bad way. Roasted peanuts are pressed in a machine until all the oils are squeezed out resulting in a powdery substance. The peanut oil is then sold separately. Pretty cool.

The only downside is that there is added sugar and salt (a grand total of 3g sugar and 90mg sodium.) Hey, you could do a lot worse than that.

Would anyone else want to try powdered peanut butter? Any thoughts?

One thought on “Powdered peanut butter?

  1. Yo. Since you are so help conscious, go grab yourself this months national geographic. It has a very interesting article in low fat but sugar products. Might want to reconsider your low fat peanut butter choice.

What are your thoughts?

